Spinning Out of Nothingness

Ever since I got my spinning wheel, I had been thinking about personalising it in some way. The wood was just crying out for some attention, and as much as I loved the look of the natural wood freshly oiled in all its plain glory, I also felt it was missing a little something.

Not wanting to paint it, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do. So I did nothing and waited for inspiration. And eventually, it came! I came across a quote on the internet while doing some Googling for something else, and I knew it was perfect. It just felt right. And I love the little bit of darkness that the quote – by Persian poet Rumi – implies:

“We come spinning out of nothingness, scattering stars like dust.”

This quote had to be on my wheel somehow. So I got to work.

 

I mapped out in pencil where I wanted the words, checked my spacing, had a look at some fonts I liked on Pinterest (I’m a bit of a nerd that way – I have a whole board dedicated to fonts) and went for it. I mixed up a lovely dark shade of blue, like midnight, and after I had painted a couple of coats, I went over it again, just highlighting the letters, in a slightly lighter shade.

img_7722

I LOVE the way it turned out. Absolutely love it. There are still some pencil marks in these photos because I waited until it was definitely dry before I rubbed them out, but I was impatient to take photos. So this is Margaret, my not-new-but-improved Ashford Kiwi 2!

 

So, pimping your wheel: yay or nay? What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Spinning Out of Nothingness

Leave a Reply

