Tour de Fleece 2016

This year, I got a spinning wheel for my birthday from my loving (and long suffering, he might add) husband. As if I needed a new hobby. But I could feel the call of the wheel, I dreamt about the softness of the fluff and saw the vibrancy of hand dyed fibre in my mind whenever I had a spare minute. So I took the plunge and posted an ISO (in search of) post on Ravelry.

And within a day, A fellow Raveler messaged me. She was looking to sell her Ashford Kiwi 2. Was I interested?

Was I!

So I took her up on the offer and haven’t looked back since. I absolutely adore her. I’m still deciding on what her name might be, but we’ve been getting acquainted these last couple months and when I head about the Tour de Fleece challenge, I was IN. My challenge was to spin up some merino from a friend’s leftover needle felting stash into one big rainbow skein. I split each colour into two lots to spin separately, with the idea that I’d ply them together when finished. My other goals were to concentrate on finding a good spinning rhythm, to practice consistency and control and to better understand the brake tension.

IMG_4949

It’s been going well so far. I’ve really enjoyed the challenge, and I can’t wait to see this lovely yarn plied and knit up!

 

 

Even my very small helper has been excited to give spinning a go.

IMG_5212

 

Happy spinning! Keep pedalling!

 

IMG_5229

3 thoughts on “Tour de Fleece 2016

  1. I love the colours! I didn’t realise you were blending them all yourself. Cool! I hadn’t mentioned it before, but you might like to try Navajo or N plying, if you want to keep the stripes, that is!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Summer Rainbow | A Million Paper Stars

Leave a Reply

