Creepers Gonna Creep

My oldest child turned 6 about a week ago, but this weekend was our first opportunity to throw a party! It’s the little things that excite me, honest. 😉

My son has moved on from Super Mario and onto Minecraft. Which of course meant a Minecraft-themed party! 20150705_154026

As the cake is often the centrepiece for me (isn’t is for everyone?), my husband and I started planning this first. Really, this was his idea to do it this way and I’m really glad we went with it. We used a special compartmentalised brownie pan to make evenly-sized squares, then layered them on top of blue jelly (for water) and crushed biscuits (for sand). We used chocolate frosting to bind them together for stability.

20150705_000845

Then we made the figurines out of royal icing, which we dyed to using gel colours. The husband helped, which is why some are wonky (ha ha – don’t tell him I said that!). I piped green icing along the tops for the grass, and used toothpicks to stabilise the figurines. The kids loved it!

IMG_20150705_194334

20150705_132311

Watch out for the spider, Steve!

20150705_132305

A creeper and some pigs.

We also had cookies – of course. Creeper cookies! I dyed the dough green, then used green icing and black fondant to make the faces.

20150705_125608

IMG_20150705_195344

Creepers gonna creep!

There was a bouncy castle too, which was a big hit, as well as gym mats, kickballs, and hula hoops. My dear husband also made creeper and enderman balloons. I’m gutted I didn’t get a picture of them! He got green and black balloons, then used sticker labels coloured with markers to make the faces. They were pretty cool and the kids had fun chasing each other with them.

20150705_150327

He also sorted all the food, tablecloths, cups, plates, and forks (all green, of course). He’s an awesome dad. There was a ton of food: sandwiches (plain cheese or ham), crisps, cocktail sausages, cheese cubes, cookies, sweets, rainbow jelly, juice, and of course, cake!

20150705_151132

All in all, it was a great day. The kids went home tired with party bags filled with bubbles, mini pinball games, sweets, mini slinkies, and a slice of cake. My only regret is not customising them like I did last year, but there’s always next year!

He was one happy boy, and for once went to bed without any arguments!!

20150705_132531

Happy Birthday, sweet 6-year-old!        

One thought on “Creepers Gonna Creep

Leave a Reply

