The Perfect Little Dress

To me, girls’ dresses are all about form AND function. There’s a place for pretty and ruffly, a place for expensive fabrics and ‘don’t wipe your hands on that’, and a place for comfortable, cute, and easy to wear. We mostly live in that last place. My daughter, like many girls, loves her dresses as much as the next girl, but she has to be able to move in them, run in them, climb in them, and wipe her hands on them. It’s just part of growing up. So I make her a lot of simple, quick dresses in cotton and cotton blends that are easy to wash, cute to wear, and totally layer-able for our sometimes chilly summers.

I’m always on the look out for new ideas, new fabric combos, and most importantly, ways to incorporate more handmade stuff into my kids’ wardrobe. That’s what it’s about, right? Well, at least, I’ll try to get away with it while I can. 😉

Back in November, my mother-in-law, some friends and I were in Dublin at the Knitting and Stitching Show. My mother-in-law was in the middle of knitting up a gorgeous autumn-coloured sweater reminiscent of the Baby Surprise Jacket. With some urging from my friends, it was decided that the lucky recipient of the sweater was going to be my daughter. So of course she needed a dress to go with it. Amiright??

Anyway, I immediately hit up my favourite fabric stall, Fabrics Galore, and straight away I spied an adorable grey hedgehog print with gold, red, and blue accents. It was perfect.

20150126_124956

And I knew exactly what dress pattern I wanted to use: the Olivia dress pattern by Jess at Craftiness is not Optional. I also used some leftover fabric from a dress I made for myself, and it was a perfect match:

20150126_124949

And I think it goes swimmingly with the sweater (isn’t it the cutest?):

20150126_125148

One day I may get my daughter to hold still in it long enough to get a picture! Well, one can hope.

3 thoughts on “The Perfect Little Dress

Leave a Reply

