It’s that time of year…

It’s that time of year when I start to panic about teacher presents. Of course there’s the usual box of chocolates or package of lovely bath stuff, but I imagine most other parents have already come up with this idea. So I always try to come up with something original, something I can make, because I like making stuff and I’m hoping it conveys my gratitude for their efforts over the last year.

Anyway. This year I I had planned to knit mitts, and/or cowls. But then I realised that might be a strange gift to receive in June (even in this country). So then I thought about sewing an apple-themed appliqued placemat and napkin, then that transitioned into reusable cloth lunch bags. Finally, I settled on tote bags. I saw this bag and thought it was cute. I could imagine my son’s teachers (there are three!) throwing odds and ends into them, using them to store things in the classroom, etc. So I gave it a go.
The pictures are less than stellar, so you’ll have to forgive me.
20140624_123430

And here’s another one:
20140624_124234

All in all, I’m happy with them. I hope the teachers are! The pattern and tutorial were pretty simple to cut and follow, and it sewed up pretty quickly. I enlarged the pattern a little (by about an inch all round), and redrew the handles part to fit 5″ handles (unfolded). I can see having a make one or two for myself in the future!

 

3 thoughts on “It’s that time of year…

  1. Pingback: Schooooool’s Out!! | A Million Paper Stars

Leave a Reply

